TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Cool Westy!!!! - SO36 w/ SO45 kit!?!?
dieselnut Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:51 pm

If this is what I think it is, somebody got a REALLY cool bus. Hard to tell from the pictures, but it sounds like (and kind of looks like) a SO-45 interior.

From the ad - "...cabinets seem to be westy, but different design than usual (removable with quick release clips). Z bed is also different (dual release levers)..."

"Westy deal of the year" on here (so far...)

Oh yea, here's the ad while it's still up - http://www.thesamba.com/vw/classifieds/detail.php?id=192000

Nid Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:53 pm

Now, I'm far from an expert on Campers, or type 2s in general, but isn't that a Dormobile top?

crofty Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:55 pm

dieselnut wrote: If this is what I think it is, somebody got a REALLY cool bus. Hard to tell from the pictures, but it sounds like (and kind of looks like) a SO-45 interior.

From the ad - "...cabinets seem to be westy, but different design than usual (removable with quick release clips). Z bed is also different (dual release levers)..."

"Westy deal of the year" on here (so far...)

Oh yea, here's the ad while it's still up - http://www.thesamba.com/vw/classifieds/detail.php?id=192000

I see laminate, not a SO45.

dieselnut Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:01 pm

I need a bigger monitor....lol

Nid - the top is dormobile but the camper is westy. 90+% of the buses w/ dormobile tops in this country are westys. They're called SO-36's, also referred to as Dormobiles of course. Technically, the correct bus to call a Dormobile is one w/ a Martin Walter kit inside it - as they are also the makers of the roof - do a search for Fig's bus to check one out.

Major Woody Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:22 pm