TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: blead the stupid brakes!
volkswagenut Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:45 pm

hey guys was wondering if any of you had the same problem i have been having , i have bled brakes in the past but not like this .see if you guys can help me find the problem . i have a 59 bug all new everything have bled it and bled it tell the cows came home i thought i about had it . then i got in it the other day and it about went to the floor other than the obvious , blead it again have you had this problem . and no i have not seen any sign of leeks. ](*,)

Banzai KG Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:54 pm

Have you bench bled the master cylinder prior to bleeding the rest of the brakes?

Usually when I do a brake job, I adjust the brake shoes, then bleed the brakes, drive the car around/reverse, and recheck/readjust brakes, then after I'm satisfied, I adjust the parking brake.

metaljim Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:09 pm

i don't know if this is common, but after i did a master cylinder job a long time a go on a customer car, i just jammed on the pedal after bleeding. turned out that jamming the pedal right off the bat ended up "folding" the little rubber o-ring gasket on the piston, thus fucking up the master cylinder.

could it be?

scruffy5 Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:59 am

My 66 had been sitting 23 years so I replaced everything from the mastercylinder down and when I drove awhile I had three wheels lock up on me,forgot the hoses,they collapes on the inside. fixed that And then no brakes no matter what I tried. Bad mastercylinder brand new from Cipl,happens every once in awhile,put in new kit,fixed

andk5591 Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:57 am

Hey - just say a whole post on this a couple dayas ago - as mentioned earlier - you need to bleed the hell out of the master cylinder as well as the individual lines - I went through this a while a ago. I ened up going throughthe entire process about 4 or 5 times.

volkswagenut Wed Feb 15, 2006 5:22 pm