| keifernet |
Sat Jan 18, 2003 9:23 pm |
|
Anyone else getting alot of e-mails with recognizable names/alias off of this site.
In the last few days I have received numerous ones and thankfully Hotmail has decent preliminary virus scan, although I know better than to open most I did open one or two accidently and they are "blank" even though it shows 100-140k as I recognized the "tag" as being someone I had posted to before...
I know someone else started a thread about this once before, I was just wondering if it was happening to anyone else as frequently as me right now?
I know Everett said not to open anything that did not have his moniker correct and I have gotten ones that looked like they were from him in the past.
Just out of curiousity, has anyone gotten one with keifernet on it?
the funny thing that made me write this was I just got one from "candian77zwitter" LOL! |
|
| ronnie |
Sun Jan 19, 2003 12:46 am |
|
| I get several everyday, It's my understanding(could be wrong) that when someone gets the virus it robs addresses from their address book and sends out emails to and/or from them. I know a friend of mine got one from my address recently. I got norton anti-virus and it deletes the contents of the message for me. |
|
| widefive57 |
Sun Jan 19, 2003 6:01 am |
|
| I get the same thing on a regular basis. Usually the subject is "this is a powerful tool you would like it". |
|
| TimGud |
Sun Jan 19, 2003 8:51 am |
|
| The only ones I have gotten are in Everettes name. I use norton as well and have had no problems and I try not to open them. |
|
| Erik G |
Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 am |
|
what do you guys all have in common?
all of you have your full e-mail address showing. Someone has the Klev virus, and when they visit the samba, their computer hunts for e-mail addresses. It sees yourname@whatever.com and sends you a file, any file, usually between 128 to 148 kb long.
I suggest you use the my settings tab to change your alias. just drop the @mail.com part so we will still know who you are..... |
|
| Mowser |
Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:15 am |
|
Erik hit it on the bullseye. Since I've done it they have all but stopped.
Mo |
|
| keifernet |
Sun Jan 19, 2003 6:18 pm |
|
| Yeah I guess everyone would still know by the tag alone huh? LOL! I just never did because of the past BS and the name thief/ rants riots BS, Plus I stand up and don't need to hide behind the " phony alias" ploy, but maybe your right time to make the change for the new year. Kinda nice though having it so people can pop you a private question or info without having to post it.... |
|
| Chris181 |
Mon Jan 20, 2003 7:25 pm |
|
I have been receiving those e-mails and I do not have my e-mail adress posted on this site. All of the weird e-mails I have been getting have been from people with VW related e-mail address's. And they all have had subjects but no message.
Most of the subjects have said "instant access" and one said "eager to meet you" it sounds like porno stuff but they all have A VW related address?
How do these people know my e-mail address when it is not displayed? And are these people trying to send me a virus? |
|
| EverettB |
Tue Jan 21, 2003 7:46 am |
|
I get a TON, the viruses just steal emails from web pages you visit as well as your address book. I've been seeing a lot lately where the virus stole parts of the "not associated with Volkswagen of America, but if they are reading this, ..." line from the bottom of the site.
Anything from "everettb" is a virus and not from me, it's from someone who visited my site and is infected with a virus.
Anything from me is from "Everett Barnes". |
|
| Chris181 |
Wed Jan 22, 2003 9:26 am |
|
I have not received any e-mails that have had "everettb" on them.
So are you saying that the people are not e-mailing me, it is a virus e-mailing me?
I would hate to think that some VW folks were trying to screw up my computer! |
|
| EverettB |
Wed Jan 22, 2003 11:01 am |
|
VW people may be emailing you but they don't know it because the virus send the emails without them knowing.
Also the "From" line is probably wrong, the virus changes the "From" line to make it look like it came from someone else, usually a random name from the infectd person's address book or a web page they visitied recently so it looks legitimate. |
|
| rizzag |
Wed Jan 22, 2003 11:48 am |
|
| i was getting them, now i dropped the email address off my name and they have stopped. has anyone gotten any from me? i know the cal-look forum had this problem as well. |
|
| Chris181 |
Wed Jan 22, 2003 2:48 pm |
|
| I received one of those emails from someone that advertises on this site, I was almost going to call him and ask him if he was emailing me, and I was not going to be nice, so chances are he probaly would not have known what the hell I was talking about? Does that mean he might haveing having the same troble I am having? |
|
| EverettB |
Wed Jan 22, 2003 3:01 pm |
|
There is a 99.9% chance he wouldn't know what the hell you are talking about.
Just delete any msg. that comes through that has an attachment.
Get a virus program.
Make sure your software is up to date. I use Outlook Express and they release updates all the time to fix stuff, mostly related to viruses. http://www.windowsupdate.com |
|
| vw68type3 |
Sat Feb 01, 2003 6:37 am |
|
Everett,
Same here,got emails from you abbreviated!
type3man |
|
| jeremysmithatshawdotca |
Tue Feb 04, 2003 11:41 pm |
|
| They seem to come in groups to me, a couple each day for a few days, then none for a week type of thing. No big deal, I just delete 'em. Jeremy |
|
| EverettB |
Wed Feb 05, 2003 6:36 am |
|
| I get about 100 viruses per day miminum. I am not joking. Just delete them. |
|
| obus |
Wed Feb 05, 2003 10:28 pm |
|
| i got the first one on my yahoo address a few days back and my address is not posted. it was a recognizable email address or forum name that i can't remember right now. it said something about a virus in the subject line!! needless to say i deleted it before i could blink an eye. if i don't recognize the email address- i go right for the delete button!! |
|
| 66split |
Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:23 pm |
|
Everett,
I think your site has been compromised with respect to your registration system/dB. I recieved some emails in one of my many email accounts that can be traced back to this website. Bear in mind that 3 of my "internet only" email addresses are aliases and in NO WAY have reference to my actual name, address etc. So the information contained in those emails can be traced back to their "origin" registrations. if you need more info, contact me. |
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|