TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Automatic (sacrilege) Buggy
John_w Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:05 am

Hi all, newbie here.
I am a paraplegic so I drive with hand controls which means it gets way too busy to use a clutch so an automatic trans is preferred. I have a Type III automatic I bought from a VW shop guy. I also have the drive shafts, rear hubs & brakes, and the triangular rear subframe. I know the trans will not fit between the stock frame horns of a Type I.
Now the questions –
1. Anybody out there done an automatic buggy?
2. Is it possible to cut the horns off and fab a replacement trans mount?
3. Any thoughts on which buggy(s) might lend themselves to this sort of conversion?
Any other thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance, John

kit.car Sat Sep 30, 2006 9:49 am

I saw this one a the Carlisle 2005 show, he was from the great white north. He built it for his daughter who had some physical disabilities. Auto-stick and tube bars on the sides so she could climb in.

Might want to read through this thred too:

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=114696

John_w Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:47 pm

Interesting. Coming from a weelchair a "regular tub" buggy will actually be easier to get into. The Autostick is an option. It will fit in the bug horns. as the case is similar to the standard transakle. The fully automatic is in a bigger, more boxlike case. The local word is the automatic makes a better car.

Lo Cash John Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:21 pm

You can make either one work. It'll just take some fabrication.

Good luck!!

GDRBO Sun Oct 01, 2006 2:16 pm

I have a t-2 auto in my (as yet unfinished) buggy. It has pan with the horns shortened to the E-brake cable tubes and slimmed from there to the torsion tube. The carved out part was reinforced with some Honda hood sheetmetal. Mounts and the rollcage were fabed to mount the trans like it mounted in the bus originally.

John_w Sun Oct 01, 2006 5:29 pm

Sounds cool - can you post some pics?