TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Mounting a Swamp Cooler to a Splitty.
Spanish Flea Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:28 am

I have been dreaming of doing this for 10 years. But have never come to a solid way of mounting it.

This pix above is this for real, or just a mock picture?

I must know how it was done, are there any more detailed pix of how this was mounted and what was done to achive this.

Thanks,
Spanish Flea

vw7266 Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:36 am

i saw a DC at a show with a swamp cooler... he had a piece of solid glass instead of having a slider and it had a notch cut in the top o fthe glass for the swamp cooler to fit into...

langsmer Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:51 am

vw7266 wrote: i saw a DC at a show with a swamp cooler... he had a piece of solid glass instead of having a slider and it had a notch cut in the top o fthe glass for the swamp cooler to fit into...

I think that that is what the bus in the picture has. The line in the window is not the split in the slider, but the reflection of the cooler support.

65Busstop Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:48 am

Your location says South Florida. I do not think swamp coolers work very well in humid climates. You need low humidity for them to work well.

OG Velvet Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:00 am

What do you do when it rains?

vw7266 Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:21 am

65Busstop wrote: Your location says South Florida. I do not think swamp coolers work very well in humid climates. You need low humidity for them to work well.

this is true dont expect to get much cooler from it...you have safari's thats all ya need..unless you are going for "style" points

Spanish Flea Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:13 pm

vw7266 wrote: 65Busstop wrote: Your location says South Florida. I do not think swamp coolers work very well in humid climates. You need low humidity for them to work well.

this is true dont expect to get much cooler from it...you have safari's thats all ya need..unless you are going for "style" points

Bingo.. :wink:

Spanish Flea