TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Thing front beam/type 1 swap Page: 1, 2  Next
Celthing Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:05 am

Just replaced my brakes and shocks only to realize my front beam has CHUNKS that are completely rusted out. I need a new beam. I've read many very good posts on the Samba about just this issue, but many have contradictory advice. I am a novice at this and don't know all the lingo (terms for front end parts) just yet. Please toss in advice as necessary on any of these items.

OK. The type 1 beam will bolt right on, but will be just be a bit lower. This can be corrected a little by purchasing and installing a Sway-a-way kit. This correct?

I have read that the torsion arms, balljoints, springs, left side tie rod, and backing plates are thing specific. But, I can get a spindle-to-spindle type 1 beam from Mid America motor works with torsion arms and ball joints already attached. Will i need new springs and backing plates? Will my old tie rod work on the new beam?

Again, I don't know squat about front ends, but mine looks like it sat in a swamp in Florida for 30 years. It looks BAD! Everythng has massive balls of corrosion, all the boots are shredded. I don't think it is rebuildable, and judging by the costs of Thing Torsion bars and such, that would be much more expensive than buying the whole unit. And I can't weld, yet. I will remedy that by taking a class this winter.

Any input would be appreciated!

prom8n Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:41 am

Yeah, I'm doing the same thing with mine. The original frame is too rusted out, so I'm modifying a Bug frame to fit. I've welded on new mounts for the extra Thing-only side brackets. Here's a pic of the project so far:

Standard Bug axles will bolt up to the Thing frame, but the lower ride is caused by the different spindles, not the frame or the springs. If you could get a bare frame and re-use all the Thing torsion arms (yes, they fit), spindles, brakes and steering components, you'd be in pretty good shape.