TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Noob - Intro and Quick Question
CoryN Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:15 am

Greetings,

I'm a complete noob at this, but have been jonesing for a dune buggy for several years now, and I am ready to enter the fold tomorrow. I've never ridden in one or been any closer to one than in a Shriner's parade, but I did make the Meyer's Manx model back in the early 70's so that's gotta count for something right?

I've located a buggy, its a project buggy, which is what I am looking for, I'm sure when it warms up, I'll be wishing I bought something more complete so I could be out driving it, but the build is half the fun right?

My question is, what recommendations do you have for dragging one home? An autotransport trailer from Uhaul? Seems a little like overkill.

Will it fit in one of the open trailers Uhaul rents? They have a 5x9 and a 6x12.

I know these things have an 80 inch wheelbase, but I don't know how wide they are.

Thanks in advance, and I promise not to ask all the newbie questions.

kustoms Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:55 am

The guys that hang out in this particular forum don't mind answering any question you have, small or large. Its the moderator who doesn't like them.

If the buggy is able to roll you could get a standard VW tow bar. They are about $65.00 the last time I looked. It will come in real handy as you build. I do a lot of towing so I have a dolly and a trailer.

Again, You can ask any question you need to that will help with your project.

BTW. Wait until you drive it. It will be a life altering experience.
You may want to check out the DBA forum. Check out link below.

CoryN Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:08 am

Thanks Tom,

I probably will get a tow bar at some point, but I don't know the condition of the tires/bearings etc and its a pretty good haul.

I'm familiar with the DBA, I've read every post there, just haven't signed up yet.

Cory

RaythO Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:17 am