TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1700 Dual Port Pancake Style Porsche motor? Page: 1, 2  Next
AZVDubbin Sat Aug 16, 2008 12:42 pm

Picking up my '73 bus today!!! WOOHOO!! I do have questions about the motor in it though.. it is a 1700 Dual Port Pancake Style Motor.. Is this the stock motor? Porsche? Good? Bad? Benefits? Drawbacks? Any info will be greatly appreciated! Will post some pictures when I get it home... Secondly.. what is the difference between regular campers and westi's? Last, is the a reason some camper tops crank straight up, and others are on angles? I am a newbie to campers and bus's in general so I am sure I will have many more questions... thanks.

Karl Sat Aug 16, 2008 12:58 pm

72 and up USA buses come stock with the 411/412 type 4 engine that Porsche also used in the 914. It is a VW engine.

Sorry to burst your bubble but I hope you did not buy it because you were told it is a Porsche engine......

AZVDubbin Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:15 pm

Oh not at all.. I am actually trading my '73 Thing for it due to it being in such great shape and 95% original. So that is the original engine style engine then? Cool. And.. I already found some info on the Westi by searching on here.. probably should have done that first. Thanks for the info.

jah_B Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:15 pm

Hoo boy..

OK. Check the engine code on the top of the case, just under and behind the crankcase breather. (Its an approx. 2.5x4 box with about a 1" hose coming out of it) in the rear of the engine, and almost in the center of the engine compartment.