| jbbugs |
Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:57 pm |
|
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...2759.l1259
Just letting everyone know, this is a Scam auction on my old Buggy that I sold. I sold the car to a customer of mine, and it resides in PSL,Florida. The seller copied and pasted my entire ad and description. BEWARE!
Paul |
|
| Endoboy |
Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:07 pm |
|
That's pretty weird. The guy's got like 1100 transactions with a 100% positive feedback. Seems unlikely he'd risk that much hard work to defraud someone on a fake buggy ad. Someone might have hacked his eBay account though for that very reason.
If you know it's not real, you should contact eBay right away so they can pull it before someone gets duped. |
|
| jbbugs |
Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:19 pm |
|
I would think whoever posted it has stolen the ID/password to submit the listing, and is hoping to dupe someone into sending his $500 deposit.
I have reported it to Ebay as a fraudulent auction. They'll probably pull it soon. I also sent the seller a request for a phone #, so I can call and Fuck him around some.
Paul |
|
| didget69 |
Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:29 pm |
|
I'm asking him about the possibility of viewing the car in person... :lol:
bnc |
|
| Letterman7 |
Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:00 pm |
|
| I should do the same thing...Woodbury is only about an hour from me :D |
|
| Bill271 |
Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:37 am |
|
| I just tryed that link and it said its been pulled :evil: |
|
| BL3Manx |
Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:22 am |
|
| They get control of a person's ebay account by sending them a spoof email saying there's some kind of problem with their ebay account and in the same email send them a fake log in page for ebay. When they use their account name and password to try to log into ebay using the fake page, the phisher gets them. |
|
| Endoboy |
Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:31 am |
|
BL3Manx wrote: When they use their account name and password to try to log into ebay using the fake page, the phisher gets them.
Yeah, my boss did that, but then he got a funny feeling about it and came right over and asked me what I thought (he calls me mr eBay). I told him he'd just been phished, and we quickly went and changed all his login info before the scammer got a chance to use their ill-gotten info. Gotta be ever-vigilant these days... |
|
| jbbugs |
Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:21 pm |
|
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...2759.l1259
He's at it again. Smoking' deal huh?
Considering the fact that I sold it for $9K.
I emailed him asking for a phone #.Haven't heard from him yet.
Paul |
|
| nightmanx11 |
Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:41 pm |
|
| Loks like he got pulled even faster this time |
|
| jbbugs |
Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:08 pm |
|
I'm glad to see it got pulled so quick. He had a "buy it now" price of $2,700 on it.
Freakin Scumbag |
|
| Arnold Wingler |
Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:04 pm |
|
| I saw the original ad, one thing to check is the sellers location vs. plates or tags on the car. Very common on ebay with ski boats. Seller claims to be in nevada or Arizona with a boat that is tagged in Florida. |
|
| buggy2430 |
Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:11 pm |
|
| There was one in North Wilkesboro,N.C. this week and I sent the guy a pm.He told me he would take 2K cash for it.I said yes,I will come right over.And then he shit me. |
|
| vwpimpster |
Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:18 pm |
|
buggy2430 wrote: There was one in North Wilkesboro,N.C. this week and I sent the guy a pm.He told me he would take 2K cash for it.I said yes,I will come right over.And then he shit me.
he did what? |
|
| jbbugs |
Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:46 am |
|
I actually got a reply from this Loser:
WARNING: This e-mail is a suspected phishing scam.
From: Regina Boys <regboys@msn.com>
The above "From:" address may be forged. Save Address Reminder Block Sender
To: <ripal@bellsouth.net>
Subject: RE: dunebuggy
Date: Wednesday, September 3, 2008 5:09:38 AM [View Source]
Hello,
Thank you for your interest in my VERY Nice VW Manx style Dune Buggy w2110 motor. I want you to know that I closed my auction earlier because someone has offered me the buy it now price, but didn't have all the money available.
Now the buggy is still available. Everything about this buggy functions perfectly.Incredible power, handling and reliability. If you are interested in buying, the price is $ 2,800 US .
I had to move with my family in UK where I got a new job transfer. I brought the buggy here with me but when I found out about the very high import duties and all the restrictions regarding registration and emissions tests here I've decided to sell the vehicle.Also I thought I would have time to go an ride it but my job takes all my time. I want to sell it in US because is still registered there. It is made for US market and has US specs on it. The buyer will receive it along with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it in his name.
The transaction will be done through Ebay for our own protection, no money first to me. I am registered with their secure trader department and they will handle the trade.
Your funds will be 100% insured by Ebay until you will receive and inspect the buggy, and I will be sure that I will receive the payment.
You will have 10 days from the time you receive the buggy to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not.
If you want to buy my buggy then e-mail me:
Full name for the title,
Shipping address
As soon as I have this information I'll start the official procedure, and eBay will notify you about this. You'll also receive important guidelines + instructions from them (please go through them exactly).
I'll handle the shipping, so this will be free of charge for you.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Regina Boys
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: ripal@bellsouth.net
To: regboys@msn.com
Subject: dunebuggy
Date: Tue, 2 Sep 2008 20:14:55 +0000
I'd like to buy the buggy. Please send a phone # I can reach you at.
thanks,
Paul |
|
| dunebuggydrifter |
Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:04 am |
|
| Man, what a tea bag. :^o We should all send him e-mails until he closes his account. :lol: :lol: :lol: |
|
| Endoboy |
Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:38 am |
|
jbbugs wrote:
I'll handle the shipping, so this will be free of charge for you.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Regina Boys
Oh, so the perfectly running buggy with a 2110 in it is only $2800, plus he'll ship it free?? It's amazing what these morons think we'll swallow. It must just be a numbers thing...for every hundred of us who would laugh at this guy's pathetic ploy, there must be one or two who say "Score!!" and send their money off into the ether. |
|
| didget69 |
Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:25 pm |
|
Say - what was the douchebags' name - Vagina Roy?
At least he was decent enough to give you an email address... time to contact MSN to get the collie-molester shut down there as well... :lol:
bnc |
|
| HeidelbergJohn4.0 |
Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:33 pm |
|
| I've seen that exact test response several times. I also get tons of the "nigerian type" scams in response to Craigslist ads and even the ads we place for our Yorkies we breed. They will even call you to follow up using TTY in attempt to hide their phone number and voice. I always ask for the callers direct phone number before I will respond to the TTY operator. As soon as you tell them you will only conduct face to face business, the call mysteriously is terminated. |
|
| jbreddawg |
Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:44 pm |
|
These types of scams have been going on a long long time .
Spend a few hours reading here and laugh your ass off !!!
http://www.419eater.com/ |
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|