TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: cold idle/warm start problem stumps my mechanic
jbhuber451 Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:28 am

I thought I'd post a problem I'm having with my '87 Westy that has stumped the mechanic I've been using for over 10 years who I trust and respect. Any thoughts will be very appreciated!

Current Problem:

The van starts well but idles very rough for about 45-60 secs before smoothing out. Then, once the van is warm (runs great warm) it does not restart properly. i have to crank the engine with the accelerator to the floor to get the thing to very gradually catch and start to fire. It then runs very rough for about 20 secs. Then smooths out and runs great.

History and Attempted Fixes:

Several months ago the van started having this problem: While the cold start was good, the cold idle was very rough for about 60 secs. Then the idle would smooth out but go to 2800 rpms for about 3 mins. Then the idle would drop but vacillate from 1200-2800 rpms, going up and down for about 3-5 mins. Then this would all stop and the van would run great (though the idle was as bit high - 1100-1200rpms.)

My mechanic replaced the idle stabilization unit and the van ran the same. He put the old one back. then we replaced the ECU with a used one from a reputable guy. he was able to then fine tune so the 2800 rpm and vacillation probs stopped, but now can't solve the current cold idle/warm start probs.

Prior to all of this, last year it had a bit of a cold idle issue which he dealt with by enriching the mixture. This fixed the prob but left me with a slightly high idle (1100-1200) which I just lived with for 6-8 months before the 2800rpm thing began.

Okay, so there it is. All ideas greatly appreciated! Thanks! John

kayakwesty Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:15 am