TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Overheating and lack of power
climberjohn Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:09 pm

Hello Samba denizens:

I'm having a troubling issue with my van. I hope you can help me with it.

I’ve got a 1986 GL Westy, 182K miles, original engine. The van is new to me as of January 2008. I am a rookie mechanic (Samba trained =^) but doing my best to learn.

Over the last few weeks I have (slowly) replaced all the fuel lines in the engine compartment, installed squeaky-clean fuel injectors from WitchHunter, added an auxiliary battery and rewired a few cabin items to run off of it, and replaced the blue coolant reservoir cap. I didn't operate the van for a few weeks, and prior to this time the van was running strong. I have not done a fuel system nor coolant system pressure check, but plan to soon at my local garage.

After these enhancements, the van starts fine and idles smoothly. After about 10 minutes of idling at 2K RPM, the stock temperature gauge has the needle exactly over the LED in the middle, right where it usually is. I can reach under the radiator and feel the coolant hoses; both are warm. I assume this means that both the thermostat and the water pump are operating properly. The coolant color is a nice florescent green. All appears normal from the front.

The problem: the engine is running very hot and has a noticeable lack of power. I do not have a laser thermometer, so I cannot tell you absolute temperatures. But after about 10 minutes of flat driving and then up a one mile hill in mild 65 degree weather, the rear bumper is very warm. I can barely hold the tab that swings out the license plate for more than a couple of seconds. The oil dipstick is too hot to pull out with my bare fingers. I can “smell” the heat from engine bay from the drivers seat, which never happened before. During this time, the temperature gauge on the dashboard remains right in the middle.