TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: new carbs or new mechanic?
skspooner Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:06 am

Hi, recently had problems with the Solex pdsit 34 twin carbs on my 2.0 litre cu engine. The word I got back from my mechanic was "you need new carbs mate". The report he gave me states:
No CO% L/H carb, unable to adjust, shut off valve not working. Possible metal paste to carb top.
NO CO% O/S carb, unable to adjust. No balance between carbs, O/S accelerator jet missing.
erratic idle and HC high.

I'm no mechanic, can anyone tell me if this is a new carb job or if it can be fixed? If anyone could explain this a little better to me than the mechanic did (who I was not impressed with and won't be using again, but that's another story), I'd really appreciate that too.

Volksaholic Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:53 am

It's been quite a few years since I've dealt with the 34 PDSIT carbs, and some of what the mechanic has written is not really clear to me. What it sounds like is that the idle cut-out solenoid may be dead or gummed up. Those are easy to take out and check the solenoid operation: apply +12v to the electrical connection, -12v to the housing, and it should pull the little plunger back. If the plunger is bent or has any build up on it, though, it may be hanging up in the bore.