TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: drum brake newbie questions... Page: 1, 2  Next
kshbaja Fri Oct 03, 2008 6:35 pm

I am getting ready to replace the rear drums and shoes on my van. I've never done drum brakes before and had a few questions.

1. I have done a bit of searching and the only special tool I saw mentioned was an L shaped device to manually adjust the shoes after installation. Are there any other tools besides some good needle nose pliers I should invest in to make this job go easier?

2. When I ordered the parts a while ago I went a bit overboard and also got new wheel cylinders. If the current wheel cylinders don't appear to be leaking, is it worth changing them? I know this will require me to open the system and bleed it later.

3. In the aforementioned over zealous order, I also bought a rear wheel bearing kit. I was fresh off the fronts at the time and didn't research the job before buying it. As I read about this procedure today, I am a bit intimidated about getting the axle nuts off and then correctly re-torquing them to 350 ft lbs. I don't detect any obvious problems with the rear bearings, but was thinking of a preemptive measure. Is this a can of worms I don't want to open until I have to?

Thanks in advance.
-kh

Phil G Fri Oct 03, 2008 7:14 pm

No special tools required for drum brake and hardware replacement.

Don't use compressed air (dust is unhealthy for the lungs).

Semi-metallic linings add rear braking power. If not using semi-metallics, use OEM linings Ex: Ate (less peddle effort than aftermarket organics).

Clean and lubricate adjusters well before re-installation, and drum locator screws using dry film lubricant or a viscous hi-temp grease (sparingly).

Wheel cylinders are ancient, replacements cheap, and bleeding only take minutes - well worth it, giving you an excuse to change out old fluid via bleeding.

Make sure replacement drums are of good quality.