TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 2.0 X-Flow Info?
Jonesy02719 Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:00 pm

Hello all. I'm a noob to posting, so please forgive the ignorance.

Mainly, I'm hoping other Samba members can point me towards some info on 2.0 ABA X-flow (4 cyl) swap info.

I've been a lurker here for a long while, but am getting more serious in my goal to purchase a watercooled Westy. Given my price range and locale I'd anticipate buying a Westie that would be high mileage, need some bodywork and would likely need an engine replacement anyways.

I'm more of a MK2/MK2 VW person, so I have some familiarity with ABA motors and fuel injection systems of those eras. I'm not into Suby conversions, I'd prefer to stick with VW. I'm pretty mechanically savvy, and I'm patient and willing enough to undertake a conversion right away. I'm a sucker for project VWs, what can I say?!?!?

I'm just having trouble finding links. I've tried searching, but maybe I'm using the wrong terminology.

Any help would be appreciated. I'd like to consider costs of such a conversion, so I have a good game plan.

Vanagon Nut Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:50 pm

I did a "home brew" install of an OBD1 ABA in my '81 Westy at 15 degrees. There are others with VW gas I4 engines in their Vanagons on this list. There is likely lots of info on this lists archives to help you get started.

Maybe you've tried these terms but search under I4, inline 4, Jetta/Golf, conversion, 50 degree, 50*, swap etc.

Check my sig for a VW gas I4 group I started.

Also check out vanagon .com too. There is info there too.

And the Tiico user group (Yahoo?) may have info that will help.

Are you planning on doing the 50 degree install?

Neil.

tristessa Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:52 pm

Even with the diesel-style 50deg mounting position, the ABA intake manifold is probably going to be the biggest sticking point .. sticking into the space where the engine cover is supposed to go. :lol: Sorry, I'm into my third beer tonight and couldn't resist...