TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Advice on an '84 westy
snowbro3249 Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:19 pm

Hi,

I'm a newbie on this forum and would like some advice, as I'm thinking about purchasing an '84 wolfburg westy.

The seller is asking $8k. I test drove the van and it drove very nice. The body is in good shape. There is no rust at all and it has been repainted. The interior is in great shape except for a minor tear in the driver's side door, and one of the arms on the drivers seat is a bit torn. The rear bumper has a dent and that is the only exterior flaw. The headlights were replaced with the dual rounds. The additional seating is a nice option. The engine only has 100k miles and apparently was rebuilt. Like I said, it drove very nice.

$8k seems high for an '84, but the van is in nice shape. Are the wolfburgs typically worth more?

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks!

914 mike Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:39 pm

$8k is a bit high for a stock 84 IMHO.....even a GL. Plenty of nice vans out there for $5K or less.

Dont know where you are but check out this one in seattle....
http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/cto/923254322.html

On the other hand , maybe it would be a good deal if you think this guy will get his asking price:
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/classifieds/detail.php?id=549549

I think the 84-85 vans can offer a lot of value since they are often looked over for 86+ vans....

The thing about an 84 is you will find yourself spending money to make it more like a newer van. So, I suggest buying low and give yourself some upward spending. For $8K, it better be a VERY nice 84.

I bought my 84 for $2k, but now have @ $7k total in it, but it kicks ass.

I suppose you also need to consider how dirty you wanna get and how much work you can do on your own...

Good luck

Mike
84 westy, 2.2 suby
Livin the life I love and lovin the life I live

ftp2leta Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:54 pm

snowbro3249 wrote: