| ratpanel61 |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:33 pm |
|
I found this on Craigslist last night. The guy said he wanted $5000 for it. COme to find out he wants a western union wire transfer. I think it's probably somebody else's bus. Anybody know if it is? He says the bus is in Great Falls, MT.
http://s698.photobucket.com/albums/vv341/alexstam33/ |
|
| oldeskooloval |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:36 pm |
|
| link does not work for me |
|
| Focker |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:38 pm |
|
ratpanel61 wrote: I found this on Craigslist last night. The guy said he wanted $5000 for it. COme to find out he wants a western union wire transfer. I think it's probably somebody else's bus. Anybody know if it is? He says the bus is in Great Falls, MT.
http://s698.photobucket.com/albums/vv341/alexstam33/
I may be new the VW lifestyle but even I can tell that's a scam...Put a 2 in front of that price tag!
Don't Do It! |
|
| ///Mink |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:38 pm |
|
| It's a scam. I cannot believe people still fall for them. Yup, it's perfectly logical to expect to buy a fully-restored Deluxe Bus for $5000. :roll: |
|
| microbus |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:39 pm |
|
| If you go into the whines you will find a whole bunch about this bus... all in different cities! |
|
| royDHPNM |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:42 pm |
|
it is all over the place, even here in New Mexico. it is a scam, I emailed him for the hell of it, told him I would like to fly out and drive it back, here is the response
[quote
Hi,
I am selling this bus because my platoon has been sent back to Iraq and don't want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before May 20. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn't been involved in any accident.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The bus has 32,900 miles, year 1964.
It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $5200. The bus is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
Regards,
Alex Stam
]Hi,
Right now I`m in Great Falls, MT in a military base. we are getting ready for Iraq. I don`t have my cell with me. We`ll have to stick to email for now as this is the only way I can communicate.The shipping can't be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the bus along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 inspection time period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the bus on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.
Alex Stam
[/quote]
it is also talked about in the "whine thread"
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=150711&start=16760 |
|
| ratpanel61 |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:48 pm |
|
| Exactly what I got when it showed up on the Norfolk Craigslist. The replies are word for word. He was real quick to e-mail when I started talking to him, but when I started asking pointed questions and told him he would have to call me before I sent him any money he wasn't interested anymore. I just told him I have a plane ticket and will be there tomorrow with the cash in hand so I'm waiting on his response. I want to see how far I can go before he figures out that I know. |
|
| Focker |
Mon May 18, 2009 5:54 pm |
|
ratpanel61 wrote: I want to see how far I can go before he figures out that I know.
If you haven't sent the bread...He knows. |
|
| EverettB |
Mon May 18, 2009 6:01 pm |
|
| Scam and mentioned a few times in the Whines thread at the top of the site too. |
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|