TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: this wire goes..... where?
drellfoster Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:38 pm

Hi- I'm really new at this.... I figured it would be easier to just ask then to look through all the goobledegop of that giant manual. I was changing my spark plugs the other day and noticed a disconnected wire. I'm not sure where it goes. It's the brown wire coming from the left white box.... it just goes down... to nowhere

tencentlife Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:20 pm

Ground it.

drellfoster Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:43 pm

That's what I thought.... What is the purpose of that white box anyways? Is that coming from the battery?

tencentlife Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:57 pm

Those are idle air bypass solenoid valves, or idle speed boosters. You have two so that means your van is Digijet and has PS and AC, one valve for each.

When the AC compressor clutch gets powered, power also goes to one valve and it opens to allow a little extra air to bypass the throttle, which has the same effect as cracking the throttle slightly (no, it doesn't effect mixture, the air bypassed is metered air from after the AFM).

On the PS pump there is a pressure switch that senses the rise in fluid pressure from operating the steering, so that switches power to the PS valve to boost idle to compensate for the increased load.

In either case you shouldn't really notice any change in idle speed since they are calibrated to the extra load that would otherwise slow the idle. Make sure the hoses that feed air to the valves and back are intact and well-connected, these are a common source of intake vacuum leaks. You can test either valve by simply jumping power to either pin while grounding the other (there is no polarity on a solenoid). The valve will snap open audibly. If you do this with the engine idling, the idle will rise because the coresponding load is not being added.

Wildthings Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:55 pm

Just to help you out in the future. A brown wire on an ACVW is a ground wire.