TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Got rust? I do.
jeroland Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:47 am

So I finally got to the bottom of my ignition gremlin. . . Hall sender in the distributor. This is the deepest I've dug into my Van's guts, and I must admit I had a pretty good time learning about it with the help from the Samba and my Bentley manual. In the process, I also fixed an oil leak from the breather tower and replaced some bad drive belts. Took her for a test drive yesterday and she felt real smooth which made me feel real good!

So I patted myself on the back and quickly began to think about what I can do next. I want another project but am not sure I want to dive into this one: I am thinking about tackling the rust issues I have, but I have never done any rust/body work on cars before so I don't really know what I'm getting myself into. I live in Colorado so the air is pretty dry, but over the past few winters of driving through slush and mag-chloride I've noticed that it's getting worse. I've got a fair bit of bubbly paint and flaky metal but I don't think it is not manageable. I'm including a few pictures just to see what kind of reactions I get. So don't be shy, lay it on me: how bad is it really?

ThorAlex Tue Apr 27, 2010 10:07 am

most of that looks like surface rust, just sand it of and repaint. the steps will have to be welded, you can do a patch job or replace it. New steps are available on the net somewhere, and so are replacement panels for most of those other areas too. Easy job but a pain in the but to do.

dobryan Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:19 pm