TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Oil Bath Air Filters For Off Road Page: 1, 2  Next
pkdmslf Tue May 18, 2010 9:03 am

I have seen many posts by people asking for advice on air filters for their off-road rides, bajas and rails. Many times people respond that the stock oil bath air filters work better than the paper, gauze or foam air filters. I have zero experience with oil bath air filters as the only ACVW's I've owned were sandrails. I do not see where an oil bath air filter would be a logical choice for an off-road VW because of the oil sloshing/coming out of the filter housing from bumpy/rough roads, steep hills (ascending or descending), jumps, etc. I have never seen a stock VW oil bath air filter on an off-road VW either. What are the real off-roader's ideas concerning stock oil bath air filters for off-road use? Anyone have any pics of Bajas or rails with these installed?

The responses are usually, "the stock oil bath air filter will work better than any paper, gauze or foam air filter". That may be true for a street ride but for off-road? Come on, let's get real.

Russ Wolfe Tue May 18, 2010 9:20 am

The stock oil bath air filters do have baffles inside to keep the oil from sloshing.
But the sloshing is one of the things the filters depend on. The filter medium is kept wet with the oil. The oil catches the dirt, and the sloshing washes the dirt back into the bottom of the air filter pan. Up until a few years ago most farm equipment, and construction equipment used oil bath. It was a way cheaper and mor effective way to filter the air under extreme dusty environments. Yes, the equipment manufacturers have gone to the paper filters, but I would like to see their markup on the replacement cartridges. They made no money on the oil bath filters, as you can use waste oil in the oil bath with no downside.
I live in a farming area, and the farmers much preferred the oil bath.

pkdmslf Tue May 18, 2010 12:32 pm