TheSamba.com Forums
 
  View original topic: 356B cabrio flood damaged on salvage website
pbenn Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:18 am

No affiliation, no knowledge, just noticed it today by accident:

Twelfth thumbnail line down, second from left (basic website):

http://www.autosource.biz/

hugheseum Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:47 am

damn.........looks like nice roadster...............there are some gnarly cars on there,carrera gt?...................friggin enzo!

34FraserNash Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:36 pm

The company selling this Porsche attracted a lot of notoriety for possibly being crooks or scammers after this feature on Jaguars that they were selling in August 2010. Supposedly it costs $15 to look at car listings, and the Bring a Trailer article below lists many dubious experiences with Autosource:

http://bringatrailer.com/2010/08/31/soggy-cats-jaguar-flood-victims/

pbenn Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:44 pm

Wow. You'll need to go into "Older Comments". thanks for that link.

34FraserNash Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:05 pm

pbenn wrote: Wow. You'll need to go into "Older Comments". thanks for that link.

You're welcome... as far as I've heard, they may have stolen pics from image-hosting sites, Craigslist, forums and blogs like Jalopnik and Bring a Trailer, and eBay auctions, removed watermarks where applicable, cooked up fake descriptions and represented them as being salvaged wrecks for sale. I only knew of one person (on another site that I have since deleted my account on) who actually got a car from them, and their dubious accounts of the experience consisted of getting a total turd of a car and paying through the nose to get title snafus and numerous liens cleared, shipping cross-country and risking jail time once they found out their car was an un-federalized, under 25-year-old foreign-market car that had come in through Canada.



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group