TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: To vent or not to vent? baywindow gas tank swap Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
busmania Fri May 06, 2011 9:00 am

I just installed a baywindow tank to get the extra capacity. I had an extra tank laying around so I figured why not. However, there are 3 holes that I am not sure if I should just plug or vent. 2 of the outlets are on the top of the tank (these were the original baywindow vents that ran up to the body vents on the outside). I plugged one and vented the other up towards the vent but I think it is burping a little bit of gas. The third hole was about 1/2" and right in the middle of the tank on the top. I plugged this one as well.

So, should I vent one of the vents? If so, where to? should I just plug them all? If so, with what? Will the pressure inside the tank not cause these plugs to leak or blow out?

disclaimer: I did search, i have been researching this topic for a couple months. I did not find any clear info about the venting. Thanks for the help.

Culito Fri May 06, 2011 9:22 am

You need some sort of vet, whether it be from the tank or in the cap. If the cap is vented, you can plug all the other ones off.

I would try to use one of the vents on the tank itself somehow. When I have to park on an uneven surface or make a hard left with a full tank, sometimes gas leaks out of my stock VW vented cap.

Campy Fri May 06, 2011 11:10 am

Make sure that it is a proper vent. You never want an open "hole" in a fuel tank, which would turn it into a bomb.

busmania Fri May 06, 2011 12:03 pm

Well, I guess I'll vent it. I will use a brake line or some other metal so that I don't risk cracking. My goal will be to make the vent as high as possible. I'll get some pics of my final design. Thanks again.

j.pickens Fri May 06, 2011 12:47 pm

I'd seal it up and only vent the cap.

Kelly Fri May 06, 2011 1:12 pm

j.pickens wrote: I'd seal it up and only vent the cap.

seems the easiest solution and it's proven effective already.