TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: '85 Vanagon Alternator blue ground wire
mattrhogan Sat May 07, 2011 7:25 am

Hi,
I'm just starting to do some of my own work on my Van and had to replace the alternator. I got a "Worldwide 90 amp" alternator from advance auto and put it in. The battery is charged and the car starts but the OSX light and battery light go on. From other posts it makes me think the battery isn't getting charged and I'm thinking it's because the blue wire is properly grounded. the alternator has a plastic piece sticking out where the blue wire goes and it has what looks like a copper slip piece that the blue wire goes over, but the plastic piece is very loose. How do I figure out what is going on and if in fact the battery is not charging? Remember, I'm pretty new to this.
Thanks

crazyvwvanman Sat May 07, 2011 7:34 am

You are hooking the blue wire to the wrong thing I suspect. The loose spade sticking out is probably the W lead and should not be connected to anything on a gas Vanagon. The blue wire connects to the small stud or a spade right next to the big stud where the red wires connect. The blue wire is not a ground. Can you post a photo?

Mark

mattrhogan wrote: Hi,
I'm just starting to do some of my own work on my Van and had to replace the alternator. I got a "Worldwide 90 amp" alternator from advance auto and put it in. The battery is charged and the car starts but the OSX light and battery light go on. From other posts it makes me think the battery isn't getting charged and I'm thinking it's because the blue wire is properly grounded. the alternator has a plastic piece sticking out where the blue wire goes and it has what looks like a copper slip piece that the blue wire goes over, but the plastic piece is very loose. How do I figure out what is going on and if in fact the battery is not charging? Remember, I'm pretty new to this.
Thanks

mattrhogan Sat May 07, 2011 8:43 am