TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: F.I. ? Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Video Bob Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:31 am

Could someone please explain to me why maintaining a 35 year old FI system is better than updating to a simple dual carb system. I have been working for 2 months trying to get this damn FI system to work. It is complex with vacuum controlled fuel pressure regulator, air metering box with old corroded resistance input, 5 injectors susceptible to clogging, electrical problems etc., an expensive control unit 35 years old that depends on input from the ignition system to trigger the injectors accurately, 2 temperature sensors that effect the fuel input rate. The ignition system is dependent on adequate vacuum based on the functioning of other FI components that are regulated by vacuum and any vacuum leak screws the vacuum - timing - fuel injection. :shock: The whole complex system could leave you on the side of the road with little recourse but to hire an expensive tow truck to pull you in to where you will likely get ripped off by some mechanic that doesn't have a clue what to do. Someone posted that the FI was very reliable and all you had to do was maintain the following items and proceeded to list 14 different things that could go wrong. I could go on, but I think you get the point. Now tell me why it is worth all the risk. Anyone seen a Raby T4 engine with FI?? Rant ended :evil: .

VDubTech Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:37 am

Maybe a nice HonDUH would be more your style. If you think that fuel injection system is complex, you really shouldn't be working on it in the first place. If you honestly think for some reason going to an aftermarket dual carb setup is going to be better for you, please, be my guest. I'd be happy to take all of those worthless, complex fuel injection parts off your hands.

aeromech Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:41 am