TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Install Type 3 Cooling Tin Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
pharos Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:59 am

Hello,

It's my first time to install Type 3 Cooling Tin, and I'm wondering if it seats OK, or need some work?

Thanks[/img]

Chris659 Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:50 am

From what I've read most people will answer you that type III tin needs to be on a type III motor...

I had bought those same things by recommendation of my local shop but never installed them after learning on the samba ( although apparently I am using a type III block so technically I'm installing the right tins for my block lol ) ...I'm going to be replacing them the proper type I tins

baked beetle Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:36 am

yea those tins are shit and look like the fit the same :P

pharos Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:40 am

I know it's a shit Tin, but the owner of this Engine need to use it, so can I get some help here about if it seated right or I must grind it to totally seat to the barrel?

Chris659 Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:50 pm

If it must be installed I would grind it to fit...

krusher Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:20 pm

DRD installed those tins on my longblock for my bus with out telling me, so I just left them on.

I have a dakota digital head temp gauge and my head temp is always within normal perimeters :wink:

vwracerdave Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:17 pm

The Type III tins were made or a 1600 so if you are installing them on an engine with larger pistons then you will have to trim them to fit.

dcdubs Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:25 pm

seems like more often than not bailing wire is required to keem them in place and they offer no better cooling on a type 1 than the stock t-1 under tins....its an old trick that doesnt work :wink:

craigman Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:40 pm

dcdubs wrote: seems like more often than not bailing wire is required to keem them in place and they offer no better cooling on a type 1 than the stock t-1 under tins....its an old trick that doesnt work :wink: