| VWLooseNuts |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:43 am |
|
Anyone be able to help me identify this VW? Is it anything?
sorry second post had it int he bug area. was told possible Empi Sportser.
is there any way to really tell when i go check it out. |
|
| didget69 |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:58 am |
|
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/album_search.php?...t_dir=DESC
bnc |
|
| Dale M. |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:13 am |
|
EMPI Sportster gets my vote...
There is also (for info source)..
http://www.dunebuggyarchives.com
http://www.dunebuggyarchives.com/gallery/base/Empi...0d169ceb04
Dale |
|
| BL3Manx |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:29 am |
|
One thing you can check to see if it was factory built is see whether the windshield has the folding hinge EMPI used.
Its definitely based on the EMPI Sportster, probably built using the plans EMPI sold, but the engine cover is definitely not standard EMPI Sportster design.
Whoever did it did a great design/build. It would be a definite magnet at any VW event. I'd fix it all mechanically, top to bottom, and get the upholster taken care of and then keep it just the way it is. I wouldn't even repaint it.
Its a real nice find.
|
|
| VWLooseNuts |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:05 am |
|
I can pick it up for about $400... this weekend guys asking $500 but doesn't know what it is so i might be able to shave $100 off of it? we will see
and i would not paint it either. i like the look of the paint |
|
| Dale M. |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:17 am |
|
On Power Block Television (Spike TV on Satellite) they did a early 50's Chev PU in "fotina" (faux patina or some such spelling) and it looks really cool... I have to agree with BL3... Clean it up a bit, fix the mechanical issues, and if you have to paint it, do a flat clear over existing "patina".... Would be a eye catcher at local meets...
Dale |
|
| BL3Manx |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:28 am |
|
Pretty sure the engine is 36hp but the big nut and tall regulator on the generator makes me wonder if its a 25hp, like this one. Check the 25hp and 36hp serial number list before you go. A 25hp engine would be worth as much as he's asking.
I see it also has a batwing steering wheel. |
|
| bobfalfa5 |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:15 pm |
|
| http://beachwheels.blogspot.com/2011/01/very-early-sixties-1961-empi-sportster.html |
|
| BL3Manx |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:45 pm |
|
bobfalfa5 wrote: -1961-empi-sportster
Do you have a reference for that 1961 date that you can post please? I'm sure that's wrong. The earliest drawings and articles I've seen are 1963 and the Patent application was January 1964.
BTW, what do you think of the picture of the red Sportster with the 356 wheels? I think its one of the best period dune buggy shots ever and the wheels are a big part. I think you said 356 wheels looked too off the shelf. I wish I had a set on my shelf. |
|
| bobfalfa5 |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:10 pm |
|
first seed of the sportster are even in 1956, when Empi began to cut a damaged beetle for going offroad.
certainly you are right about the official lauch on the market, but i have the story of a very sharp man here in Italy who built some modified sportsters for the italian market.
he was in touch with california at that time and he told in 1961-62 sportster drawings were certainly already around. first he produced in 1961 with his father and it is very very similar to american one.
but it s very hard to tell, because in 1961, dune buggy was still relatively underground.
this could be the reason for the omologation fiche is 1964 and launch in 1963. nice tip. i will add it
i can bet the first sportsters were just an internal game of Empi.
for the 356 wheels:
sure the picture is very very good.
this wheels are first of all painted and not chromed. then they are not 5.5 and they have no logo cap and bias tyre.
when i said "off the shelf" i had the 5.5 mangels chromed with bfg in my mind.
You can see tons of them. devalued |
|
| bobfalfa5 |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:22 pm |
|
in your wonderful gallery you posted something really similar to the sportster built in 1960
it was in the air...
you got a pm!! :wink: |
|
| tbirdscott |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:40 pm |
|
So this one judging by the windsheild mounts would be an original?
http://princegeorge.kijiji.ca/c-cars-vehicles-cars...Z327173398
There was a pair of them for sale locally a couple weeks ago for $500.
Scott |
|
| BL3Manx |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:47 pm |
|
bobfalfa5 wrote: in your wonderful gallery you posted something really similar to the sportster built in 1960it was in the air...
I posted this picture. The owner said in his ad that it was made in 1960. However when I tried to contact him for more information, he didn't respond. So I have no way to know when it was really made.
In the summer 2008 issue of Manx Mania I wrote some articles about the Burro. I believe the first Burro was built prior to the Sportster, possibly as early as 1960. I included several quotes(references) from period magazines which substantiate that, which I included in the article.
http://www.manxclub.com/newsletter.htm |
|
| BL3Manx |
Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:54 pm |
|
tbirdscott wrote: So this one judging by the windsheild mounts would be an original?
http://princegeorge.kijiji.ca/c-cars-vehicles-cars...Z327173398
There was a pair of them for sale locally a couple weeks ago for $500.
Scott
Its really more for telling what's not factory: No original hinge=Not factory built (unless they're 4 seaters which didn't have them, but also had a different shaped windshield frame).
That being said, you bet, that sure looks like a factory built EMPI Sportser to me. Too bad the windshield metal knobs seem to be missing.
|
|
| jsturtlebuggy |
Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:07 am |
|
| Why do you have the same first picture in the off road section along with a poll and have it under a different name? |
|
| BL3Manx |
Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:15 am |
|
Looks like its a different person asking questions about the same car. He says he's thinking of getting it for the early engine stuff. Loose Nuts is from Vancouver, the other guy from Oregon.
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?p=5658718#5658718 |
|
| Dale M. |
Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:16 am |
|
Think Off road posts are a copycat/fraud.... Unless the coincidence of two people from different areas just happen to stumble in to same Barnard and both are members of the Samba and do not read any other parts of the forum, and use same pictures and .....
Dale |
|
| BL3Manx |
Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:30 am |
|
| I don't think so. The other guy has been a Samba member for a while too and has a couple pics of his oval posted. I'm guessing the Sportster is in a Craigs ad someplace but I haven't found it. |
|
| VWLooseNuts |
Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:44 am |
|
jsturtlebuggy wrote: Why do you have the same first picture in the off road section along with a poll and have it under a different name?
we both must be looking at it. vancouver wa. is across the river from portland oregon..
this is what i was told the last to days from this jackass selling this car.
VWLooseNuts wrote: Lahti35 wrote: :idea: SLAM IT AND PUT IT ON EARLIES! 8)
my man. =D>
that was the idea.
unfortunately this is the reply's back i got from him yesterday and today
yesturady=
LooseNuts wrote:
his words
I like are to busy to have anyone come look at it right now with like school and work jewno, so I will like call you when I has time to show it or sunthin sometime and then maybe like have everyone that has been calling me so much come over at once to look at it then you can email or sunthin if jew want it cause I don't want to cause no conflict right there with everyone around eh. Ok
:shock:
use your south of the boarder accent while you read it.
this morning=
LooseNuts wrote: jackass called me back today. he is pulling the add and its not for sale anymore. he is just tiered of everyone calling wanting to by it and is sick of all the stress from everyone calling so hes done messing with the sale and its not for sale.
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?p=5658832#5658832
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?p=5658718#5658718 |
|
| jsturtlebuggy |
Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:00 am |
|
I did not know it was two different people posting about the same buggy.
Did not know it was posted on a web site for sale.
Yes dealing with people on Craigslist can have it problems.
What were your plans to do with it?
Rebuild it and use it or turn it for a profit? |
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|