TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Thinking about doing a TDI swap (geez another engine swap??) Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Zeitgeist 13 Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:47 am

westyventures wrote: Zeitgeist 13 wrote: There's really a lot to like about the ALH vs. the 1Z/AHU engines. I just wish the pans could be more easily modified to suit 50 degree applications.

Like what for instance? I really haven't seen any huge benefit, as the VNT turbos and other differences can be directly swapped. I'm currently building up my 'new' van with an m-pump AHU @50 degrees, VNT17 turbo, PD intake, liquid intercooling, etc., should put down around 140 hp and 250 ft-lbs when done. :D

I'm mostly referring to the NA relative availability issues with each engine series. I have no direct experience with the ALH, so my appreciation is really just based upon theory. I only have TDI experience with the 1Z ('96 Passat), and I really do like the engine. But, I also have lots of experience with earlier VW gas and diesel engines, as I've rebuilt dozens of 'em. One of the things I've never liked about these is the idler shaft, which is really just used to drive the dist/vacuum pump and oil pump. We used to see the idler shaft bearings wearing prematurely, and they were annoying to replace...and difficult to source (early '90's). Correct me if I'm wrong, but VW jettisoned the shaft in favor of a chain driven oil pump and a camshaft driven vacuum pump on the ALH, correct? Other than that stuff, I have no opinion about the turbo, since any engine I build will no doubt be mTDI and have different induction and exhaust.

Andrew A. Libby Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:24 am

rsxsr wrote: If I believed everything I read on the internet since doing my conversion, I'd probably just leave it parked in the garage.