TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: God help me, I'm a newbie. (How to jump my battery in '87)
magpiemama Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:48 pm

Ok, yea, I know.

So I have been putting off purchasing a manual for my newly purchased '87 Vanagon--I've been having too much fun driving it.

Today when I went to jump into my vehicular and drive away, when I realized that it was in need of a jump. :(

So how exactly does one GET to the battery compartment which is uh, under the driver's seat?

Any tricks?

Spanks a million.

0to60in6min Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:59 pm

you know how to adjust the seat - moving it forward and backward right?

pull the lever on right of the seat, the one that moves the seat - not the one for adjusting the back - move the seat all the way forward - open the trap door for the battery under the seat.

do you know how to fill the windshield washer bottle?

how to check the brake fluid level?

the Bentley or Haynes manual are your friend...

:D

r39o Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:01 pm

Welcome to the herd!

The starting battery is under the right seat..

Slide it forward.

Lift up the hinged cover.

Viola!

The other side, left, usually has the auxiliary / house battery, if one is fitted.

Enjoy!

Bubusse Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:46 pm

Unless your van came from UK or SA or such places, the proper battery to jump start shouldn't be under the driver's seat but under the passenger's, that is the right hand side. Get the seat forward, open, and go ahead...
Mind you, mine is manual and so is my other car, and I live in a hilly place, so if a battery is too tired for some reason (never happened to the westy, but it sometimes happens to the suzuki in the middle of our freezing quebec winters), I just let it roll downhill and if it's really the battery, it has no choice but to start...