TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Why are the B models not well liked? Page: 1, 2  Next
MMW Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:40 am

So I have noticed that most people talk about the B like there is something wrong with it. The A & C are definitely more sought after & worth more. Why is that? Is there something about them that isn't very good?

MoPor Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:55 am

Its just aesthetics IMHO. As a relative 356 novice I prefer the A and pre A cars (I'm into coupes). The B has the squared off hood and large back window plus the fender slope is different. I don't much care for the steering wheel either.

69judson Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:13 am

They`re all good! :D It`s all hype. Years ago before the crazy price increase A models were thought of as lesser cars because they were older. The late C models were "better" because of disk brakes and larger engine. Now it`s all about aesthetics. A`s have smaller/lower bumpers, smaller taillights and more jewel like details. It all comes down to personal preference as to which style you like. They all drive more or less the same. IMO the B`s are the one to buy if everyone else is going after Pre A, A and C :wink:

Jon Schmid Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:17 am

Just my opinion, but a lot of folks seem to like the A's because of the lower bumpers and the thought that the body lines flow better, whatever the hell that means. And the C's are liked because of the disc brakes and the somewhat more powerful engines. That said, I have a 1960 BT5 1600S Drauz Roadster--family owned since new. I also have a 1964 C Reutter coupe. Both nice cars for different reasons. I like all 356's--I even like the Notchbacks a lot, and not only because they are so rare now--they look cool. I think it depends on who you're talking to at a given moment.
Jon

dawerks Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:38 am

a) FAT CHICK!
b) Middle child syndrome

Mike Ruddy Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:41 am

:lol: And C's ??

Mike.

Unobtanium-inc Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:55 am