TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1966 Sea Sand - Reclaimed after 15 years of storage Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
9pin Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:49 pm

Last weekend I reclaimed my '66 that has been sitting in a friends parents shed in rural Minnesota for 15 years. :)

A little backstory... I started asking about my uncles '66 around the time I was 16. Buried in his garage and not running for several years, he seemed happy to get rid of it… for free!

Of course, at that age, I had little money or know-how to restore this car, so it sat… I graduated high school, graduated from college… it sat… Got married, moved to the city, bought a house… it sat… I've made many excuses over the years as to why I've never reclaimed it. Everything from money to the means to haul it.

15 years later, I finally got the nerve to take on this challenge and rescue it from its resting place all these years. The problem is now to get it from my home town in northern Minnesota. It's been in a friends parents' shed on their farm, along with several other friends classic, inoperable vehicles. Throughout the process of finding a solution (I don't own a truck, nor have friends who do, I'm city folk!) I ended up stumbling onto craigslist and finding a Pearl White '66 for sale that runs and was only a few hours away. I got a wild hair and rented myself a truck and a trailer and hauled it home.

A thread on that find here:
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6205674

A couple weeks later I contacted some friends to give me a hand to finally retrieve my Sea Sand bug.

Been parked in this particular spot since at least 2005.

I had removed the engine back in about '97 or so, it wasn't the original 1300, I think a 1200 from '60 if I remember correctly. This also has been under water up to the middle of the windows from a flood we had in Grand Forks, ND in 1997. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1997_Red_River_Flood