TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Seattle Folks - We are bringing back OktoBUGfest Nov9th Page: 1, 2  Next
miketolliver Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:47 am

Seattle Folks - We are bringing back OktoBUGfest Nov 9th

So I have been working for two years to make a winter meet possible here in Seattle that unlike PNWSpringmeet is truly indoor aka with heat of the winter.

Well we have applied to Monroe County Fairgrounds ( Evergreen Speedway ) They recently built a new expo center that is just large enough to make it happen for the car show and vendors. Plus is next to a large barn for swap spaces.

Its not a done deal yet , but its time to start to evolve you folks to get ideas .

How should this be different ? Should it be the same ? Should we ad a theme like Oktoberfest ( BEER) ?

Robert Fish spoke to Jay Oliver and we have the go ahead to do this , and this will be a happenstance event production.

We know that something's will be different do to the structure of the contract with county.

1.Counties need there taxes and requires us to tax parking , entry and other items.
2.we'll need to seal gas tanks and unhook batteries
3. walkways will need to be 4ft or 8ft
4. parking fee's might not be able to a charity ,we are pushing hard to keep this. They are asking for a huge tax on this - work to be done there.

Anyways , put your ideas here and let us know so we can work on them. I'll get some venue photos shortly.

facebook
https://www.facebook.com/okotobugfest
website at www.oktobugfest.com ( working on )

miketolliver Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:54 am

Bldg A is the new Expo center . Bldg B is swap space building . The red outline is what we think we are getting for space . Parking is across the street.

joe56vw Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:26 am

i think monroe fairground is a great place for a event
one question i have is will the oregon folks be willing to make the drive that far north?