TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 69 FI automatic engine trouble. Page: 1, 2  Next
StinkBug68 Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:17 pm

Hey gang,

So my 69 FI Automatic Square has given me it's first engine trouble. I am totally new to mechanical culture, so I figure I'd ask here first. It's my daily driver so I definitely need to figure out a plan quick.

Basically, the symptoms now are as follows: The car starts with a pretty low, unsustainable idle and I definitely have to slightly pump the gas to get it to turn over. The accelerator pedal makes the car go almost slower before picking up speed, for a good couple seconds, sometimes longer. There aren't any noises or rattles, the engine sounds fine when it gets up to speed, but if I slow down or hit a stop light I pretty much have to throw it into neutral or the car dies. I also got a really brief green light flicker getting the car home yesterday, but never came back after I pulled over and gave the car a little rest while I inspected an obvious issues.

This happened "all of a sudden"

But, what makes me think that this is a sort of unveiling of an existing problem versus a traumatic happening was that the idle was gradually getting lower over the last few months. I was actually going to tune the car up this weekend to address that, but right now the car isn't really driveable.

My first hunch after some research is that the heat risers are plugged, and that's why the gradual increase and climax of the problem.

But hey, I'm new here. What do you think I should do? Is the problem to big to consider for my own work? It seems like no matter what possibility I uncover, the resolution involves pulling the engine out. Any recommendations for South Bay Los Angeles mechanics? Any locals down to take a look for some cash?

Hey guys, thanks for your help in advance.

Mike Fisher Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:30 pm

Brien(Itawayoflife here) in Buena Park will fix it in your driveway!

Tram Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:50 pm