TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Gabriel Hijacker Air Shocks Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Ahwahnee Sat Jun 22, 2013 11:40 am

With the recent threads on shocks and airbags I thought I’d offer a look at what I’ve done. I have been using this set-up for more than 3 years now so I am confident that it works for me and addresses the issue I wanted to fix. YMMV as they say, so decide for yourself if this is a good idea or not.

I installed Gabriel Hijacker Air Shocks on the rear of my 84 Westy.

I used a separately purchased kit to be able to air up the shocks individually.

The air line runs to a valve that is mounted in a convenient hole already present on the lip of the fender behind the wheel.

I did this solely to be able to level the van left-to-right, either when unladen or fully packed for a trip. Like most, my Westy was lower on the driver’s side without an assist in place. The result is a level van that can be easily adjusted prior to travel or on the road. The hot pink tape on the shock body is so I can easily tell with a look if one or both shocks need more pressure. The actual adjustment is done with a pressure gauge and measuring stick – I do this about as often (and at the same time) as checking tire pressure.

A concern with such an arrangement is the additional stress it may place on the shock mounts so I kept an eye on the top mounts…

and the bottom mounts…

I see no evidence of any problem with either.

This is obviously not a solution for bad springs nor appropriate for jacking the rear way high whether for off-road clearance or just bling. My driving is mostly on paved roads and never in true off-road conditions. I only use air shocks to level and thus there is no need to go crazy with air pressure, lift or the additional stiffness that would come with that.