| 62 Vert |
Tue Nov 18, 2003 3:30 pm |
|
User by the name of Mike Gator posted a 21 Window for sale in Warner Robins, GA. The phone number that he listed was disconnected. He called me from work and faxed me pictures. I told him I would take the bus he agreed and gave me directions. I drove 7 hours to pick the bus up only to find that I had been culprit of a sick joke !!!! The next day he changed the price on the same ad and even changed the location. So beware !!!! The name he used on the classified was Mike Gator. When he e-mailed me the name that came up on the e-mail was Thaddeus Downs. His e-mail address is MILITARYGUY LOOK@YAHOO.COM
He used Warner Robins, GA and Indianoplis, IN
Has anyone else experience anything like this???? |
|
| UZI |
Tue Nov 18, 2003 3:47 pm |
|
| i saw that ad and figured it had to be sold. sorry you went thru that. bastard. |
|
| coad |
Tue Nov 18, 2003 4:22 pm |
|
| So what was the point-- you got to the location he gave you and it just didn't exist? Or was there a bus and he just didn't want to sell it? Did it belong to someone else and he's messing with them and using you to do it? Was he trying to scam money or just trying to waste your time or what? Sorry, it does sound like a sick joke , but I don't get it. More details please. |
|
| type2much |
Tue Nov 18, 2003 5:18 pm |
|
| I saw that first ad too, it said 63 23 window exc. condition $2500 obo, Warner Robins, Georgia. then the next day the same ad said, $4500 firm and location was in Indiana??? sounds fishy.....now the ad is gone :? |
|
| 62 Vert |
Tue Nov 18, 2003 7:00 pm |
|
| The guy called me on the phone and even faxed me some pictures. When I got to the address that he gave me no one even lived there by either name and they didn't even own a bus. I spoke with some neighbors and was able to find the guy whos name was on the email that was sent back to me His name was Thaddeus Downs He claimed to know nothing about a bus and said that he did not even have an email address at Yahoo I think that it was a joke that some of Thaddeus buddies had pulled on him Pretty sick joke I had to drive about 14 hours just because someone had nothing better to do. |
|
| nik |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 3:24 am |
|
Bummer deal man. Sucks about the driving time. If the ad pops up again, you should notify Everett with a link so he can delete the thing.
nik |
|
| Skim |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 4:24 am |
|
| Thats just plain wrong. Reminds me of the barndoor 23 from colorado someone was asking 20k for and in 2 hours the price jumped to 30k. In your case you lost time and effort plus it was a fairytale 23. |
|
| 62 Vert |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 5:48 am |
|
| You said that right. FAIRYTALE !!! The bad thing is my 6 year old daughter just don't understand why her daddy showed her pictures of a bus and told her that he was going to get it for her, but came home with and emty trailer!!!! These people need to think about how their joke affects other people !!! Not to even mention the day of work that I lost!! |
|
| coad |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 6:41 am |
|
| Yeah,I don't see the humor in that stunt on any level. Its just cruel to make you the butt of whatever sick joke they were playing on the real owner. The fates will reward you for this down the road-- there is a better deal waiting with your name in it. If the little rat bastards who did this are reading this, the fates will reward you too . . . |
|
| iamdonquixote |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 8:11 am |
|
maybe it was stolen?
I am always supicious of people who HAVE CAPS in the email address.
whay is up with that? |
|
| EverettB |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 8:21 am |
|
I deleted the ad yesterday.
If anyone figures out who posted it, you have my permission to give them a Samba-authorized beat-down. |
|
| UZI |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 11:53 am |
|
| what if you bought a 23 window bus and later found out that it was a 23window that someone clipped together? |
|
| 62 Vert |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 12:10 pm |
|
Thanks for all the support. I just wanted to let everyone know about the joke. HA! HA! Has anybody ever seen something like this happen before?? I e-mailed the jerk back, but I am sure he is too much of a coward to answer me back!!!
I do have a question, maybe someone can answer. When he posted the ad he said that it was a 1963 23 window. What was the last year they made a 23 window?? When he sent me pictures it was of a 21 window, I just thought the guy didn't know what he was selling, especially with the price he put on it. I guess I was stupid for not seeing all the signs. The candy was just too sweet!!!! $2500 for a 21 window. Dhuuuuu !!!
Oh yea!! What does the caps mean in an e-mail address??? |
|
| EverettB |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 12:31 pm |
|
earlyman wrote: what if you bought a 23 window bus and later found out that it was a 23window that someone clipped together?
Anyone who misrepresents a Bus as being something it's not - fake Deluxe, fake Sunroof Bus, etc. also deserves a beat down. |
|
| EverettB |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 12:32 pm |
|
62 Vert wrote: I do have a question, maybe someone can answer. When he posted the ad he said that it was a 1963 23 window. What was the last year they made a 23 window??
1963
62 Vert wrote: What does the caps mean in an e-mail address???
It means you typed in all caps. |
|
| UZI |
Wed Nov 19, 2003 2:51 pm |
|
| sorry everett, did that say "bleep out" or "beat down"? |
|
| 66split |
Thu Nov 20, 2003 12:29 pm |
|
EverettB wrote: I deleted the ad yesterday.
If anyone figures out who posted it, you have my permission to give them a Samba-authorized beat-down.
Dam that is funny Ev...that really sucks...wish we could find that guy...must be someone who knows something about VWs tho...theres an old saying "if its sounds to good to be true...." |
|
| vwjosh6070 |
Thu Nov 20, 2003 6:46 pm |
|
| i live in woodstock georgia and ill keep a look out in the papers so i can see if there is one posted in it. if it is, ill go check it out, then if its a lie, then ill have to get on them till they piss their friggen pants!!!!!!!! then ill take a picture of them, and spread it all over the net. :D :D :D |
|
| chabanais |
Thu Nov 20, 2003 7:27 pm |
|
| DAMN all that driving time? I'd pound them if I caught them. Do you have the FAX number? You could do a reverse look-up or let me do it. |
|
| JDawg |
Thu Nov 20, 2003 11:01 pm |
|
The profile for LOOK@yahoo.com says that the user is a female, with no details (name, location, etc.) listed. Sorry it's of no help.
http://profiles.yahoo.com/look |
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|