TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: I bought out my local VW dealships old tool supply today! Page: 1, 2  Next
Shaun Murray Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:17 am

Where do I start? A few weeks ago I was at our local VW dealership buying some parts for a late model jetta that belongs to one of my customers. I was wearing a VW tee shirt and by chance the service manager walks by and noticed it. He asked me if I was into old VW's, and I said "yes". He proceeded to ask if I would be interested in some of their old tools and I said "definately". I was a VW tech at this dealership from '99-'02, but I don't recognize many faces anymore except for a few. At the time I worked there I wasn't into VW's, that didn't happen until a few years after I left there. I had always heard stories about all of the old tools in the attic, but never seen them. So, a few days later I met up with the service manager again, and we went up there and tried to see what was there. With the amount of dirt on everthing and the bad lighting we couldn't tell anything. I asked him "how much for everything", and he said he'd let me know. Weeks passed and nothing, finally out of the blue one of the parts guys that I know called and gave me a price. This morning I went and hauled it all home. I'm a little overwhelmed at the moment from the volume. There are quite a few old Mazda tools thrown in there as well, those will probably be going to the recycling center. I'm not sure what I've got, any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Here's a few pics:

WM971252 Wed Oct 09, 2013 11:48 am

Go here and start looking
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/archives/info/tools1.php

It will help get most of them identified.

henry roberts Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:26 am

wow what a score. I wish it was me.

I wouldn't chuck the mazda tools, someone will want them. if a mazda guy chucked all the vw tools you'd be seriously un-impressed.

Shaun Murray Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:49 am

WM971252 wrote: Go here and start looking