TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: New Guy Here! I need help. Page: 1, 2  Next
CcJ23 Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:46 pm

Hi everybody, I'm brand new to the site, so hopefully I'm in the right place. A little background about me: I'm a high school student who is making a street legal buggy for my engineering class. The key to take from that is high school which translates to low budget. I've already bought a frame, and 2 1600 dp engines from early 70's bugs. I know one is from 73 and the other is from right around there, not exactly sure. Anyways, my goal is to strip them both to the bare blocks and build one complete running engine out of the two. Here's the kicker: it has to operate on propane when I'm finished. My goals are to first get it running smoothly on gasoline, but I also want to build the engine up a little bit for some performance, and my mentor suggested that I prep this thing for a future turbo. I understand there are kits all over the internet for this, but I don't know what's what, or where the best places to order from are, I need to know where to start. I literally have two engines that have had nothing done to them for years. Please help me out. What do I start to tear apart first, what should I buy, and what parts should I look into for the propane, turbo, and engine modifications. I appreciate any advice you have!

JabaDubRider Sun Oct 27, 2013 5:08 am

Why Propane?? Is this part of your assignment? Here is a good write up of a guy that converted his VW bus to Liquid Propane.
http://www.motherearthnews.com/green-transportatio...z2ivLsWZqE

CcJ23 Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:42 am

Yeah, it has to operate on alternate fuel. I was between LPG & CNG but the closest filling station for natural gas is an hour away.

vwracin2win Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:37 am

From what I have researched...
Turbo+stock engine=grenade

JabaDubRider Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:06 am

vwracin2win wrote: From what I have researched...
Turbo+stock engine=grenade

X2