TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Stereo wiring help on 1972 Beetle!
1972Herbie Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:05 pm

I have a 1972 Standard Beetle that has been a project for me for the past few months. I am new to the VW world. All of my previous projects have been GM cars, but I have been wanting a beetle. I found one locally for a good deal and decided to jump on it.

I am wanting to install a cd player since the car has no radio. The dash has already been cut on it fortunately/unfortunately. I am wanting it to be on switched power though, not wired directly to the battery. Can anyone give me specific instructions on how to properly wire this up? I already have the speaker wires run, just need to know how to wire this thing up! I have read that it could burn up the points?? Also, my car has been converted to an alternator.

Any help is appreciated!
Joe

ROCKOROD71 Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:11 pm

burning up the points is why you want to wire it to constant power. If you check the technical tabs for your year wiring diagram, you can see which fuses are wired for constant power and tap into that. Of course, if the radio doesn't have a power button then this is an issue and you wanna used switched power. The thing about the points is, if you're on switched power and you are waiting for your significant other out in the driveway, listening to your tunes with the car off, there is still voltage running to your distributor/points. Leaving the key turned on will burn them up. If you're pulling from constant power you can sit in the driveway until the battery is dead with no other adverse effects.

1972Herbie Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:34 pm