TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: new to baja bug need some help
kamshaft91 Wed Jan 01, 2014 5:30 pm

Hey guys my name is kam and I'm looking for a baja bug as my next project. I'm not new to acvw but i have no experience with building an off road one. my goal is to build something i can go and haul ass in the desert with. So here arey questions what should i look for when it comes to choosing a bug. howuch travel should i be looking at? What is a good engine/tranny combo? Sorry if i miss spelled any words I'm at work writting this on my phone right now lol.

Vanapplebomb Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:55 pm

Even a stock suspension can be made to scoot pretty darn quick by making some (in my opinion) straight forward modifications. It wouldn't be to hard for you to start out with a stock bug and tweak it a bit.

For the record, if you ask me, off road speed is more a matter off how hard you can beat on parts before they break than it is about travel. Don't get me wrong, travel definitely helps, but there is more to the picture than travel alone.

Start by focusing on beefing up the parts that break first. gusset the trailing arms, maybe get larger cv joints if that is in your budget, strengthen the tie rods and steering box, gusset the spindles and steering arms... Once you get that stuff squared away, you will be surprised at how fast you can go without tearing stuff up.

Once you start pushing the limits you will find new weak links and limitations. This is where more travel comes in.

How fast do you consider fast? if 50-60 is fast, this is totally within the realm of beefed up stock components :wink:

Vanapplebomb Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:58 pm

Granted...your back might not like you very much the next morning hitting some rough spots with modified stock suspensions...

That is another bonus about longer travel...it hurts less to hit a given size bump. hahaha.

kamshaft91 Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:21 pm