TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Funky air cleaner setup Page: 1, 2  Next
Awesome dave Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:48 pm

A few people commented on my air cleaner set up
I have taken some close up pics but can't find any part numbers on them but you I'm sure someone can get all CSI on this.

As I'm new to type 3 town can someone let me know what the regular set up is and why this would be an improvement ?

KTPhil Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:54 pm

That looks to be an excellent setup. I am running stock FI, but I've seen a lot of dual carb setups that suck hot air. Yours has the advantages of the stock cold air intake and crankcase ventilation connections.

If it is from stock parts (VW or not) it may be a viable option if we can determine the correct part sources.

Is there a part number on the air filter element? That may give us a clue to the air box, at least.

Donnie strickland Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:02 pm

It's just unusual to see someone put so much time and effort into a non-stock setup, and so well-done.

joey1320 Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:10 pm

That is a really cool intake setup. Whoever had that vw really cared for it :lol: :wink:

Awesome dave Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:26 pm

The receipts I have say that the air cleaner Box was custom fabricated but was told the actual filter was from an early golf, I could not see any part numbers on the plastic ducting.
It does drive very nice I bought it in Tasmania in Australia and did a road trip to south Australia maybe 800 miles didn't use any oil and cruised beautifully :)

Mike Fisher Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:32 pm

This is a stock oil bath air clean for the stock dual Solex carburetors, but I'm wondering if you have aftermarket Weber carburetors on yours?

brakeman22 Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:46 pm

The filter box is definitely from a golf/audi/jetta, but with a modification made to the lid:

http://www.dragtimes.com/parts/AIR-FILTER-CLEANER-...08852.html

I'm not sure about the ducting. Very clean, though!

Edit: