TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Ignition Basics Page: 1, 2  Next
homebrew_86 Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:45 pm

DISCLAIMER: I'm fairly new to all of this.

So I've been trying to get a grasp on how the aftermarket electronic ignition systems work. I understand how the factory dizzy, points, and coil all work but what components do these aftermarkets replace and/or interact with? Where are the benefits most noticeable and at what point are they worth investing in?

My current (first) build is a 2276. I've committed to what basically equates to a W125 cam (DRD cam with a tiny bit shorter duration at .050). Heads and carbs are still in the debate column but I'm thinking like a CB mini wedge 42x37.5. Probably Dell 40 carbs if I can find them or maybe 44IDFs.

Does an electronic ignition have a rightful home in my engine?

PS - I searched for some basic info on the forums but couldn't fine much that was definitive. If there's a post I missed, please simply post a link and I'll promptly shut up.

THANKS!

Glenn Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:53 pm

homebrew_86 wrote: Does an electronic ignition have a rightful home in my engine?
Do you mean a Pertronix, Hot spark or Compufire?

If so they are just electronic points replacements.

If you're talking about CDI, MSD or crankfire.... its a different story.

I run a mechanical distributor with points and just a Bosch coil on a 2180 w/ IDAs. It runs great.

modok Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:57 pm

The points replacement modules have been discussed before.

Beyond that you'll have to be a bit more specific. CDI? Boosters? Whole different systems? there are thousands of them :shock:

homebrew_86 Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:00 pm

I see. So if you decide to with CDI or the others, its a completely electronic ignition? Would you be using the distributor drive pinion for timing somehow?

And what gains would those give you?

homebrew_86 Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:02 pm

modok wrote: The points replacement modules have been discussed before.