TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: center throttle butterfly?
platatomi Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:58 pm

I have a solex carb that apparently has the throttle plate off-center.

When I look through the carb from the top with the butterfly completely closed, I can see daylight around one edge. This is leaving 2 progression holes exposed because the plate cannot close up against the wall completely on that side.

I assume I can just loosen the screws holding the plate to the shaft and move it a little to close better? I know the screws are peened over but they should still loosen up just a bit right? I am no carb expert and I don't want to break anything! Thanks guys.

bugguy1967 Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:28 pm

If you have a Dremel, grind off the peened area on the underside first, then unscrew.

fastfil Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:37 am

Don't hold the carb in one hand to do it. If the screwdriver slips it'll go into your hand. Ask me how I know. :oops:

Alpha_Maverick Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:47 am

also, once you loosen the screws, I've found that it's easiest to gently open the throttle and slap it back shut, to center the plate. Trying to do it by hand can be frustrating.

platatomi Thu Mar 13, 2014 6:31 am

Thanks for the tips guys, I'm going to give it a try, hopefully itcenters up enough to cover the progression holes. I think I will try to just crack the screws loose to see I I am get the plate to move before taking a dremel to it.

Also just wondering if adjusting the throttle plate like this is normally something you have to do yourself on a new carb? Or should it be centered nicely out of the box?

platatomi Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:23 am

One more question about the same carb.

The throttle lever has a bit of play on the shaft, if i tighten down the nut a little bit to elliminate the play, then the throttle shaft starts getting tight and will not return closed all the way. Whats wrong here? This is a new carb.

Paul Wilson Sun Mar 16, 2014 8:39 am