TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Dual Dell 45 tuning - What Jets to get?
jl_1303 Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:23 pm

I have eventually fired up the engine. Basically, it is:

DRD L6 Heads
FK8
CR is 9:1
1 5/8" A1 Exhaust

I am running a pair of Dell 45s and have the following jets installed at present.

40 vent
Main Jet: 162
Air corrector: 200
idle jet: 70

I am planning to dial it in using a LM2.

With all that said, I have never done that before and therefore, on one hand, have been reading lots of related posts here.

On the other, I'd also like to hear from you your opinions as to what other jets I should make ready for this tuning exercise, as the engine is not in the U.S. and it takes about 2 weeks or so to ship the required jets. As such, I therefore would like to spend a little more money to make ready for the likely needed sets of jets as opposed to having to wait after finding out what I need.

Thanks for your help.

jfats808 Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:44 pm

Use a 60 idle. Might be a little lean but enough to break in. Then you can use your LM2 and dial it in. Everything else is fine.

74 Thing Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:42 pm

You have 40 vents in your 45 Dells?

Then try 60 idle, your 162 mains and 180 airs.

Verify the jets are sized correctly with a set of gauges as well.

MURZI Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:03 am

And the source for the 40 vents??...

jl_1303 Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:56 am

My apologies folks.
After checking with the guy who rebuilt my pair of Dell 45s, I think that 38 vents, as opposed to 40 vents, were installed.

[email protected] Wed Apr 02, 2014 10:17 am

I'd start with a 58 idle, and the 180 air baseline.

jl_1303 Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:04 pm

[email protected] wrote: I'd start with a 58 idle, and the 180 air baseline.

John, does ACN have those in stock for immediate delivery? If yes, I would proceed to place an order for them.

[email protected] Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:13 pm

Yes,

http://vwparts.aircooled.net/Dellorto-DRLA-Idle-Jets-7644-p/7644-drla-idle-jets.htm