TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Newbie looking for a type 3
spoonertattoos Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:15 pm

Hello everyone,
My name is James. Im a tattoo artist in Hollywood. A few months ago my Honda element got into an accident and Ive decided to make the switch to a classic VW.

I have a 4 year old daughter and an infant on the way so Im looking for a safe daily driver that most importantly runs well and I can fix up cosmetically on my off days ( which you can imagine with a family is rare)

Im looking at squarebacks but also like notchbacks.

I have to admit I have never been much of a gearhead, but I am ready to learn.

here are my questions.

1. Is it a bad idea having a stick in the city? I only drive a few miles a day but its mostly stop and go traffic.

2. what are some things to look out for on the pro and con side with these cars?

3. Any body in the LA area interesting in guiding me through a purchase?

4. Anyone know a mechanic I can develop a barter relationship with? I can offer some quality tattooing. you can check out my work at monocletattoo.com

I look forward to meeting you all.

eyetzr Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:30 pm

Welcome. Stick or auto tough question, I drive stick for my VW, but commuting in stop & go I drive an automatic. There are lots of posts on here for spotting pros & cons with these wonderful cars. I think a squareback would be great for your growing family. I do not think I can help with the mechanic from here. Best of luck & keep us posted. Cheers

Dlglobal1 Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:02 pm

Welcome James! I purchased my first Type 3 last year and have found this site invaluable. The collective knowledge of folks here will get you through just about anything these great cars can throw at you. My suggestion ( if you haven't seen it already) is to read through the buyers guide here: http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=78049