TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: fuel smell in cab after filling up
gravedigger7 Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:53 pm

I have a 78 camper 2.0 fuel injected. I always smell fuel after I fill up. I have had all fuel lines replaced because I have already had a engine fire in my other bus 86 vanagon.!!! Worst shit in the world!!! I am new to the air cooled world and am looking for any responses!! Thank You!!

BUSBOSS Wed Jun 18, 2014 11:05 pm

Did you replace your fuel filler neck? How about all of the vapor lines including the one up and behind the spare tire well?

RONIN10 Thu Jun 19, 2014 7:43 am

I had the same issue on my bus when I bought it until I rebuilt my engine. I replaced all my fuel hoses at once, but the one that was giving me the smell in the cabin was the red one in this photo:

http://ratwell.com/technical/FuelHoses/09-FuelBreatherHoses.jpg

You have to replace it kind of blind unless you have your engine out and do some contortionist maneuvers to get your head in place. I just used my phone to snap a shot so I could see what things looked like in there.

highlandmurf Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:29 am

Hey,
I noticed that you are from NY.
I have been having the same problem.
Last month I took a trip out to Pennsylvania and filled up 3 or 4 times.
No Fuel smell the whole trip. Got back to NY and filled up, smell came back.

I think the vapor seal on the NY pumps, aside from making it a PITA to get the filler onto the bus, might allow the pump to overfill, by not allowing the pump shut-off switch soon enough.

I still plan on checking my filler hose anyway though.

udidwht Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:59 am

90* elbow at the top center of the tank...almost always cracked wide open. It is also NLA.

aeromech Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:03 am

You'll need to pull off the firewall and that pie plate on the right side. Doubtful that there's an easy fix.

Wildthings Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:24 am