TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: A little turbo and tranny help please
savvyaggie Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:58 pm

Howdy, Im fairly new with VWs. I have a had a couple over the last 10 years, a fairly stock Baja and a couple of rails, one of which I found a frame and build it from there(I located a tranny and recently rebuild 1600SP for it)..

I have recently bought another Baja. Iy is an older build, and has been setting for a 5/7 years. The owner turned the crank regularly, as he said, but it has just set in the back of his shop.

I only recieved a small bit of info about it..

Engine.
1915(suppose to only have about 1000 miles on it, he bought the vehicle semi built, and he finished it and modified it. He has owned it for 15 years, but has lived in texas(did live in California) with nowhere to ride. So its been sitting)
Turbo kit
Aftermarket heads/cam

Transaxle.
Heavy duty side covers, close ratio, lower r&p gears(previous owner said it cost about$1100 when he bout it).

I will admit that I am a little over my head with it, I am not rear formliar with turbos, indepth engine components, and tranny internals.

I Have a few questions:

1. How do I find out what turbo kit is has?(I have looked through many sites and I cant seem to find any similiar ones(the previous owner did say that the kit was for a underhood, cuz they were out of the offroad ones when it was ordered)

2. I recent How do I find out more about engine? such as heads? turbo? etc.
(owner didnt know much, he just showed me how to adjust boost, said that the timing had to be perfect, run 93/race fuel mix, and to not get it hot).

I have owner it for about 6 months and havnt had any issues with it. I rewired it, changed fuel pump(with direct replacment), replace fuel lines, etc. I have taken it out a couple of times, and drove it a lot on the farm. but the last outing I took it on, I had a few problems.