TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Help with engine build Page: 1, 2  Next
1slo73 Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:34 pm

Hello,
So i'm planning on building a 1915 for my 73 bug. I'm looking for any advice or a heads up if the engine components will "clash" with each other. As of right now i will be using :
-CB super case punched for 94's
-Forged Mahle pistons and cylinders
-5.4'" CB H-Beam rods
-CB 69 forged chromoly crank
-Mahle main/rod/cam bearings
-Engle 120 cam? with Engle lifters
-Scat forged 1:25:1 forged rockers
-Scat high performance wide mouth push rod tubes with Engle pushrods
-CB 044 mag heads with 42x37 valves

Thank you in advance for looking, im new to this and i appreciate any criticism good or bad.
Im lookin to spend $4500 tops

MURZI Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:39 pm

Build your bottom end, set deck and then order your heads flycut to desired compression. I would use a nice ported 40x35 head not the stock CB 044's. You probably will need 50-52cc chambers..... I like the new 049 revmasters or Steve Tims heads...

1slo73 Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:44 pm

MURZI wrote: Build your bottom end, set deck and then order your heads flycut to desired compression. I would use a nice ported 40x35 head not the stock CB 044's. You probably will need 50-52cc chambers..... I like the new 049 revmasters or Steve Tims heads...
Sorry for the dumb question but what do you mean by " set deck " ?

vwracerdave Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:12 pm

40x35 heads is all you need. http://www.cbperformance.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=1398
I'd even skip the 1.25 rockers and use stock 1.1 rockers with stock push rod tubes.

What carbs? What exhaust?

MURZI Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:18 pm

http://www.vwtrendsweb.com/tech/0303vwt_compression_ratio/

1slo73 Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:43 pm

vwracerdave wrote: 40x35 heads is all you need. http://www.cbperformance.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=1398
I'd even skip the 1.25 rockers and use stock 1.1 rockers with stock push rod tubes.

What carbs? What exhaust?