TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Type 4 Engine Rebuild After-Action Reports
HerrMahnenschmidt Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:21 am

I would like to propose a thread where those who have done Type 4 engine rebuilds, and who are not full-time experienced mechanics, post a short follow-up of how your rebuilt engine is doing, and what issues you have run into afterward.

Don't be shy if your engine had a catastrophic mushroom-cloud meltdown. I/we can learn from mistakes too.

Thanks.

Alex6373 Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:58 am

Hello ,I have just done my t4 1800 and so far it runs great .
I am not a expert however I have done a internship with my grandfather who was a mechanic so I guess I have some knowledge of what to look for !.
I think any one who isn't afraid to ask stupid questions here on the Samba and feel the rath from some can do this .
Having a few book's or manuals can be a great asset too!
There are some very helpfull people here, and I owe them lots for there !.

Tcash Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:43 am

Even the experienced started inexperienced.
This book is a great place to start.

gacnurse Sun Aug 31, 2014 6:06 pm

Did the top end with new parts, got new kads from kaddie shack, drove down 395, two mountain passes over 8000 feet. Thing runs great. First type 4 ive ever done.

sonofamitch Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:21 pm