TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: the cost to build a simple daily-driver Baja Bug? Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Dank24 Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:56 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm new with this kind of stuff. HELP ME. Budget is at $3,500.

I have been looking though the classifieds and getting some ideas on what I would like to do with a baja bug. I have questions for you all.

Suppose I find/buy a rolling 60'-67' baja bug with no motor for, say, 250?

Now, I would like a simple baja with back seats and drive it as a reliable daily-driver. Let's say, I buy a rebuild 1776cc single port (want to keep it as stock as possible) along with the upholstery, 26"-28" tires and maybe a matte black paint job?

Would I be able to make my budget of 3,500?

OR

DO I JUST BUY A BAJA READY BUG and RISK IT INTO HOPING IT WONT BREAK DOWN AS MUCH?

I would love to hear your advices! Have a good day!!

Brian Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:00 pm

Buying the motor will be majority of your budget.

I would buy a prebuilt one, save up for if something happens to the motor. It's the cheapest way to go. A simple baja can be had for cheap if you can do all the body work, tube bending, welding and etc.

The route I took was to buy a cheap pos and slap some tires on it and then try to break it.

KrAzY-BaJa Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:50 pm

you should be able to find a good running reliable beetle/baja for about 2k then as needed use the extra $ for anything you want to personalize- paint,tires ect.. making a simple baja "fiberglass fenders" is cheap

HERC Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:59 am

Playing devils advocate. For 1500 bucks more, you could have something pretty bitchin. Look around and keep adding to the fund

andk5591 Thu Sep 25, 2014 7:04 am

Exactly - unless you HAVE to have the car today, keep saving money until you find the right car and you will have the money for a nicer car or a bigger budget to fix/modify. Be patient. Took me 6 months to find my 65 bug, but it was worth it.