TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Remove flywheel and/or crankshaft pulley?
kyleshepherd622 Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:38 pm

sorry, another stupid question, but google didnt help me.
Im in the process of splitting my case to replace some bearings. Whats got me stuck is the flywheel. It will NOT come off. I have tried taking a piece of metal and drilling holes and bolting it on where the clutch goes so the thing cant turn and using my 36mm socket with an 8 foot pipe over the wrench. All that resulted in was bending the pipe. How tight are these things supposed to be? Am i missing something? Should i take off the crankshaft pulley first?
This is my first time trying this, so any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Northof49 Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:23 pm

It could be on to 500 ft lbs or more. Are you using a 3/4 inch drive?

Next step is to take it to a garage with a large impact wrench, like 3/4 or 1" drive that delivers 1000 plus ft lbs of torque.

kyleshepherd622 Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:54 pm

I am using ½" drive.
Is it supposed to be that tight? What should I put it back on at?
Thanks

Helfen Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:15 pm

kyleshepherd622 wrote: sorry, another stupid question, but google didnt help me.
Im in the process of splitting my case to replace some bearings. Whats got me stuck is the flywheel. It will NOT come off. I have tried taking a piece of metal and drilling holes and bolting it on where the clutch goes so the thing cant turn and using my 36mm socket with an 8 foot pipe over the wrench. All that resulted in was bending the pipe. How tight are these things supposed to be? Am i missing something? Should i take off the crankshaft pulley first?
This is my first time trying this, so any help would be appreciated, thanks.

The torque spec is 250 ft. lbs. My 300 ft. lb. impact wrench takes it off easily with 120 p.s.i.

Tim Donahoe Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:34 pm