TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Need some help with possible Vanagon Intermittent Syndrome Page: 1, 2  Next
ericpmurphy Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:03 am

Not sure if what I have going on is the known intermittent syndrome or something else so figured I'd see if anyone could shed some light. I just bought an 1987 Vanagon Westy and the previous owner let me know before hand that it had symptoms similar to VIS. He would be driving along lose power restart and be good to go... it seems like it has gotten worse though as now its hard to go a mile or two without needed a restart. I've compiled a list based on the records I received with the van of what has been replaced, checked, etc.. I tried to keep the list to things related to VIS but some other things may be in there as I'm not a great mechanic by any means! Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Also the AFM was replaced with used unit and I will be able to try a friends working AFM in next few days.

Sorted by most recent

-Installed Volt regulating Diode ito wiring for temp sensor
-R&R Fuel Pump

2013 (approx mileage 154k)

-Tracing and testing wiring harness
-Replaced ECM Unit
-Installed Signal Filter between Mass Air Flow Sensor and main wiring harness
-Added ground from distributor to engine block
-R&R Mass Air Flow Sensor (with used one so this could still be issue)
-R&R Thermostat
-R&R Water temp sensor
-R&R ECM Unit
-R&R Starter and Bushing
-R&R Instrument Cluster and Changed out Voltage Reducer (used part) Traced our wiring and grounds
-Cooling System flushed
-Set Idel and R&R Both Coolant Temp Sensors
-R&R Aux Fan Switch and Fan Resistor Control

2011 (approx mileage 153k)

-R&R Spark Plugs, Distributor Cap, and rotor button
-New O2 sensor

2008 (151k mileage) (looking at records it looks like the syndrome started about here)

-R&R Water pump and temp sensor
-New Belts

2000 (103k miles)

-R&R Cylinder heads, fill corroded surface on cycle head, resurface, new head gasket