TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Finally get her in epoxy! (After a month of waiting!)
67 Sunroof Sun Nov 30, 2014 9:59 am

The man doing my car was tied up for a month and it just sat there for a month in bare metal killing me!!

At least I know it's protected now somewhat! I'm going to put the body under a cover for now and start working on the bodywork with the small stuff first like fenders, etc.
My wife likes the SPI epoxy primer look and I kinda agree!! Hahaha
Has anyone just done bodywork and then re sprayed it with epoxy primer and rolled with it? I would assume it needs some. Sort of protective topcoat too right??

jpjohns Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:47 pm

looks nice so far 8)

marklaken Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:52 pm

I've heard of people putting clearcoat over epoxy primer, but I have no experience doing it. I'm pretty sure the epoxy primer is not UV proof - most primers chalk up when they are exposed to too much sunlight. There are also low gloss and satin sheen paints & clearcoats to get that primer look from a UV resistant paint.

volksaddict Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:58 am

Hey cool, I was just wondering about you after all your questions, looks great. A big step ahead from where you were, and you can take your time on the bodywork now.
As far as the primer I think Mark has it right and with all the hot rod flat paints out now it would make no sense not to topcoat it with something that's meant to be a final coating.

Bobnotch Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:12 am

marklaken wrote: I've heard of people putting clearcoat over epoxy primer, but I have no experience doing it. I'm pretty sure the epoxy primer is not UV proof - most primers chalk up when they are exposed to too much sunlight. There are also low gloss and satin sheen paints & clearcoats to get that primer look from a UV resistant paint.